Book Blitz

In Defiance Book Tour + My Review


Author John W. Mefford introduces Ivy Nash in the second series of the Redemption Thriller Collection.

A volatile hostage situation at a foster home reaches a bitter end: shots are fired, some die, some live to tell a sordid tale. In the midst of the anguish and confusion is one child who will bear the scars of this unbelievable turmoil.

As a special investigator for Child Protective Services, Ivy Nash lives by one rule: she’ll do anything to fight for the well-being of children. Anything. Something that was never done for her. As a “system” kid, she spent time in seventeen foster homes. Seventeen.

Very quickly, the facts of the case are blurred…accusations of sibling abuse, connections to drugs. Nothing lines up, and authorities want it all to go away. Their target? A ten-year-old boy. Unrelenting in her pursuit to find the truth, Ivy and her new friend Cristina uncover alarming new information to pinpoint who is at the root of the crime.

But evil knows no boundaries. Shock waves of her most horrific childhood memories erupt into the present, and Ivy knows that she’s in the fight for her life.

Part of the Redemption Thriller Collection which includes the Alex Troutt Thrillers and the upcoming Ivy Nash Thrillers. While all of the novels can be read as a stand-alone, there is a connecting thread in the Redemption Thriller books that will be unveiled over time. For a more fulfilling reading experience, books should be read in order: Alex Troutt, and then Ivy Nash. More series will be added into the collection within the next year.

Available to buy from…. Barnes and Noble iBooks Kobo Paperback

My Thoughts

This is definitely NOT my first book that I have read by John W. Mefford and I will say it won’t be the last. I am so excited to read the next book in the Ivy Nash series! I really really enjoyed this book. The suspense in this book kept me going, I wanted to know who the killer was, who the kidnapper was and I enjoyed finding out exactly what Ivy thought! Being an ex-foster child, Ivy enjoyed her job as a CPS person. She had a gut feeling that the wrong person had been charged with the murder of a 10 year old little boy. Was she right or wrong? We don’t find out until the end of the book, but let me tell you, it is so worth the read. I really enjoyed this book (yeah yeah… I’ve said that before) and I can’t wait until the next book! This book made me want to be a foster parent, just so I can make a difference, a good difference, in children’s lives! I know there are good ones out there, and I would want to be yet another good foster parent, and not like the ones portrayed in this book. One thing I wish would have been different, I wish we would have found out who the kidnapper was. But maybe that will come out in the next book!

“Rife with deceit and deception and characters that leap off the page, this story is told with confidence through a sure hand, engaging both the mind and the heart. A compelling treat.” — Steve Berry, New York Times Bestselling Author

Books in the Alex Troutt Thriller Series:

AT Bay
AT Large
AT Once
AT Dawn
AT Dusk
AT Last

Books in the Ivy Nash Thriller Series:

IN Defiance

Coming soon….
IN Pursuit
IN Doubt
Break IN
IN Control
IN The End

About the Author
A veteran of the corporate wars, former journalist, and true studier of human and social behavior, best-selling author John W. Mefford has been writing novels since he first entered the work force twenty-five years ago, although he never put words on paper until late 2009.

John writes novels full of intrigue, suspense, and thrills, but they also evoke an emotional connection with the characters.

When he’s not writing, he chases three kids around, slaves away in the yard, reads, takes in as many sports as time allows, watches all sorts of movies, and continues to make mental notes of people and societies across the land.

John lives in Frisco, Texas with his beautiful wife, three opinionated kids, and a feisty fat cat who rules the world.

“Pop on over to my Website, Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Goodreads and Amazon Author Page

Join John’s Readers’ Group and receive the first novels in both the Greed and Booker Series

Follow the tour


I received this book through Beck Valley Books Book Tours, I have volunteered to share my review and all the opinions are 100% my own.


Win IN Defiance by John W Mefford ebook
3 Winners!!
Ending on Sunday 5th February at 11.59pm CST

Open Worldwide

Enter HERE

Good Luck !!

Are you a book reviewer or book blogger? Join our book tours reviewers team – Apply Here x

Current book tours open for sign ups HERE

You may also like...


  1. This sounds like such it has quite an emotional pull to the story, so glad you enjoyed it xx
    sharon martin recently posted…FREE & Bargain Books Linkup! Grab yourself a few treats!My Profile

  2. Another great series. Can’t wait to read the rest of it.

Leave a Reply to sharon martin Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge